Following the tight qualifying and heats, the final stages of the 28th Andrea Margutti Trophy are much awaited at the South Garda Karting on Sunday March 26th. Live TV streaming at www.trofeomargutti.com and www.southgardakarting.it.

Another great sporting moment has marked the weekend at the circuit South Garda Karting of Lonato on Saturday. The day has been devoted to qualifying of the 28th Andrea Margutti Trophy, the race organized by Parma Motorsport that continues to be a successful international event.

A record presence of 214 drivers coming from 29 different countries contributed to produce spectacle since the beginning, as several surprising results have characterized all the five categories on track at the end of great battles that took place in qualifying and heats. Several protagonists put their name forward and several champions are all set to battle the final victory out.

The most powerful category KZ2 has 53 drivers at the start. Among these, European Champion Fabian Federer (CRG-Tm) has been very quick in qualifying this morning and put in a fastest lap of 45.810s. He proceeded the recent winner of the Trofeo delle Industrie Riccardo Longhi (BirelArt-Tm), Mirko Torsellini (CRG-Tm) and the French winner of the Spring Trophy Nicolas Gonzales (Maranello-Tm). Giacomo Pollini (Formula K-Tm) went quickest in the second session, posting a 45.920s instead. He led Giuseppe Palomba (Intrepid-Tm), Lorenzo Lapina (Italcorse-Modena) and the Austrian Christoph Hold (Maranello-Tm).

Fabian Federer (CRG-Tm) took to victories in the qualifying heats, the first having the best of Mirko Torsellini (CRG-Tm), while he was followed by Francesco Celenta (Praga-Tm) in the second. Riccardo Longhi (BirelArt-Tm) claimed a victory, but had to retire when a tyre came off his kart in the third heat. Similar fate characterized Mirko Torsellini’s race, due to the failure of the chain in the opening lap. 

Former World Champion Tom Joyner (Zanardi-Parilla) of Chiesa Corse was the quickest of the 32 drivers on track in OK. He put in a fastest time of 46.976s, leading team mates Lorenzo Travisanutto and the French Adam Eteki. The fourth fastest time was set by Marzio Moretti (Tony Kart-Vortex), while 2016 CIK-FIA Academy Trophy winner Callum Bradshaw (CRG-Parilla) was fifth.

Chiesa Corse’s Lorenzo Travisanutto and Tom Joyner claimed one victory each in OK heats.  

In OK-Junior, category with 44 drivers at the start, Luca Bosco (Tony Kart-Vortex) was the fastest of the first session in 48.638s. Nicolò Cuman (Tony Kart-Tm), the Dane Mikkel Peterson (Kosmic-Vortex), Ward Racing’s South Africans Joshua Coertze and Jordan North (Kosmic-Vortex) followed him. Mattia Michelotto (Zanardi-Parilla) went quickest in the second session in 48.499s, and he proceeded Andrea Rosso (Tony Kart-Vortex), the French David Hadrien (Zanardi-Parilla), Francesco Crescente (Formula K-Tm) and the French Gillian Henrion (CRG-Parilla).
Team Chiesa Corse got full haul in the three heats run: two heats went in fact Mattia Michelotto’s ways and the other was won by Leonardo Marseglia, both on Zanardi-Parilla.

The quickest drivers in the three qualifying sessions involving the 59 very young drivers of 60 Mini were the Russian Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Tm) in 53.623s, Leonardo Bertini Colla (CRG-Parilla) in 53.827s and Enzo Trulli (Tony Kart-Vortex), son of former F1 driver Jarno Trulli, who completed a best loop in 53.767s.

Three of the six heats of 60 Mini were won by Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart-Tm), while Gabriele Minì (Parolin-Tm), Alfio Spina (CRG-Tm) and Han Cenyu (Energy-Tm) claimed one victory each.

The French Arnaud Malizia (Sodikart-Iame) was the quickest of the 26 drivers on track in X30 Senior. His fastest time was a 49.405s, that allowed him to proceed Vittorio Maria Russo and Alessandro Brigatti, the latter two on Tony Kart-Iame.

The victories of the two X30 heats went to Andrea Bristot (Vemme-Iame) and the French Arnaud Malizia (Sodikart-Iame).

Second chance races are scheduled for the morning of Sunday March 26th, while Prefinals and Finals with live TV streaming feeds available at www.trofeomargutti.com and www.southgardakarting.it will follow.

The programme of the 28th Andrea Margutti Trophy (local time):
Sunday 26 March: Warm-up from 8:30; Second chance races from 11:00; Prefinals from 13:20; Finals from 15:20. Prize ceremonies from 18:00.

Live TV, Live Timing and all results will be available at www.trofeomargutti.com and www.southgardakarting.it
Parma Motorsport Ssd
Press Office
In the pictures: 1) KZ2 start manche; 2) OK, Tom Joyner (225); 3) OK-Junior, Michelotto; 4) 60 Mini, Trulli (49) Bedrin (29); 5) X30, Malizia (421) Russo (412). Ph. FMPress
Download PDF: Parma_Motorsport_06_250317_eng.pdf