A lot of karting and motorsport champions are named in the Hall of Fame of the FIA Karting World Championship. The event will take place at the South Garda Karting of Lonato this year from September 18th to 22nd.

The circuit South Garda Karting in Lonato del Garda will be the unique and spectacular stage of the FIA KZ World Karting Championship and Super Cup KZ2 from September 18th to 22nd. All is set for this big International event that also includes the closing round of the Academy Trophy and the Historic Super Cup FIA Karting.
A total of 261 drivers from 52 different Countries covering all 5 Continents will gather in Lonato for this event. Several recognized champions and emerging talents will be present in the most competitive KZ and KZ2 grades, hunting for the most prestigious result that could be the springboard to a motorsport career.
A lot of big names in the Hall of Fame
Some of the talents that are nowadays shining in Formula One were born and bred in karting and the Hall of Fame of the FIA Karting World Championship is full of big names. The first World Championship dates back to 1961 in Bahamas, but the title received FIA homologation in 1964 and the first winner was Guido Sala at the Pista d’Oro in Rome. Mike Wilson is the driver that secured the highest number of wins, 6 titles in a row (1981, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1988, 1989), while right behind him in this classification with 5 wins are François Goldstein (1969, 1970, 1971, 1972, 1975), Danilo Rossi (1990, double title in 1992, and then in 1997 and 1999) and Gianluca Beggio (1995, 1996, 1997, 1998 and 2000). Alessandro Piccini (1987, 1990, 1991 and 1993) and Davide Forè (1998, 2000, 2004 and 2006) won four titles, as the latter will have another run at the title this year too. Also present in Lonato are the multiple-champions Marco Ardigò, who won three World Championships in 2007, 2008 and 2014, and Paolo De Conto, who was crowned World Champion in 2016 and 2017. Patrik Hajek won in KZ in 2018.
F1 drivers in the Hall of Fame of the FIA Karting World Championship
Among the big names present in the Hall of Fame of the Karting World Championship, some have been competitive Formula 1 drivers like Riccardo Patrese, who won the Karting World title in 1974, Gabriele Tarquini in 1984, Jan Magnussen who did the same in 1990, Jarno Trulli who claimed the title in 1991 and 1994, Tonio Liuzzi in 2001 and Giedo Van der Garde in 2002. Max Verstappen and Lando Norris are two of the current Formula 1 drivers that won the FIA Karting World Championship respectively in 2013 and 2014.  
The previous meeting of the World Championship in Lonato in 1996
The World Championship had already stopped by in Lonato in the past on September 15th, 1996. Back then, Formula Super A was won by the Swede Johnny Mislijevic and Formula A by the French Christophe Ravier.

From 2003, the World Cup was introduced for the shifter categories Super ICC that was later on renamed KZ1. The most successful driver has been the Belgian Jonathan Thonon, who won four KZ1 titles (2007, 2008, 2009 and 2011), while Bas Lammers won KZ1 in 2010 and 2012. Including also the direct drive categories, Davide Forè claimed three titles, namely in 2000 (FSA), 2006 (Super ICC) and 2008 (KF1), Jarno Trulli won the 1994 and  1995 editions (FSA), Tonio Liuzzi in 1999 (FSA), Marco Ardigò in 2007 (KF1). Among the current F1 drivers, Lewis Hamilton won the World Cup in 2000 (FSA), Alexander Albon in 2010 (KF3) and Charles Leclerc in 2011 (KF3).   
KZ2 in the International Super Cup FIA Karting since 2013
The International Super Cup KZ2 has been introduced in 2013 when it replaced the KZ2 World Cup that had been run in the previous two years with the victory going to Joey Hanssen in 2011 and to the Brit Jordon Lennox-Lamb in 2012. The History of the International Super Cup KZ2 started in 2013 with the victory of the French Dorian Boccolacci and continued in 2014 with the victory claimed by the Dutch Ryan Van Der Burgt, that of the French Thomas Laurent in 2015, while the Spanish driver Pedro Hiltbrand won it in 2016. The Italians Alex Irlando and Matteo Viganò respectively won editions 2017 and 2018.    
Info: and

South Garda Karting
Press Office